Tia's Information Center

My dedication to my wonderful wife, friend & partner - my soulmate

There is a memorial donation fund being collected to help our family with funeral expenses.
We were completely unprepared for this and it caught us at a very bad financial time,
we really cannot afford a funeral. We are very grateful for those who have offered to help.
Thank you for your support.


Tia's Memorial Service will be on Sunday, 16 November.

Time and Location Information are available here


SECTION ONE:
Daily Blog Archive
CLICK HERE FOR SECTION ONE
SECTION TWO:
Current Medical Status Summary
CLICK HERE FOR SECTION TWO
     
Health Center Info Pages:    
Family Contact Information Page Click for Contact Info
Visitor's Schedule Page Schedule Info inactive
Tia's Nursing Staff Information Page Nursing Info inactive
 
Tia and Jet's Wedding Pages
The Wedding Site
 


Dedicated to my wife:
When I post in my journal, I always include a little signature picture. Those of you who have
received my journals via email don't get to see them, so if you want to,
I've put them all ON THIS PAGE (click here) for you.

How did all this start?

On July 30, Tia got very sick after dinner. She had been perfectly fine, then suddenly got dizzy and threw up her dinner. We thought it was a stomach bug, or food poisoning. We checked everything she ate, but there were no clues to be had. Over the course of the evening, she continued to be dizzy and nauseous but insisted she didn't want to go to the emergency room. I wish I hadn't listened.
By morning, when she tried to go to the bathroom, she fell very badly and we called 911.

On July 31st, she was admitted to the Leonard Morse Hospital in Natick. They attemped to have an MRI done, but she was too sick and dizzy to handle it. Over the next few days, they did many tests, but had no real answers.

On Aug 5, they finally managed to get an almost complete MRI, that revealed Tia had suffered a major
stroke in the cerebellum. She was transferred to the Neurosciences division of the Mass General. She
was in a patient room for three days. The one day we were late getting to the hospital, we learned that
she'd been found that morning unresponsive with fixed pupils and immediately moved to the ICU.

She suffered a second stroke in the midbrain, and due to complications with her CHF and fluid in her
lungs, she was put on a respirator in stable but guarded condition while they began a course of treatment
to prevent further strokes and try to correct the CHF problems. All of this is recorded in day by day
detailed information below in the blog entries. More medical data is available at the bottom of this page.

Want to know all about us and who we are? Visit our Wedding and Story site: HERE.

SECTION ONE

ENTRY

DATE / LOC

ENTRY

DATE / LOC
-Blog One (7-31-2008) click HERE July 31, Natick -Blog Two (8-1-08) click HERE Aug 1, Natick
-Blog Three (8-3-08) click HERE Aug 2, Natick -Blog Four (8-3-08) click HERE Aug 3, Natick
-Blog Five (8-5-08) click HERE Aug 4, Natick -Blog Six (8-5-08) click HERE Aug 5, Natick
     
Transfer from Natick Leonard Morse Hospital to Mass General Hospital, Neurosciences
-Blog Seven (8-5-08) click HERE Aug 6, trans to MGH -Blog Eight (8-6-08) click HERE Aug 6/7
-Blog Nine (8-7-08) click HERE Aug 7/8 -Blog Ten (8-8-08) click HERE 8/8-Fri 8/9: to ICU
   
Transfer from Mass General White Neurosciences to Mass General Blake 12, Neurosciences ICU
-Blog Eleven (8-9-08) click HERE Sat Aug -Blog Twelve (8-11-08) click HERE Sun Aug 10
-Blog Thirteen (8-11-08) HERE Mon Aug 11 -Blog Fourteen (8-12-08) HERE Tues Aug 12
-Blog Fifteen (8-13-08) click HERE Wed Aug 13 -Interlude - My Thanks click HERE Thurs, Aug 14
-Blog Sixteen (8-16-08) Fri Aug 15 Sat, Aug 16
-Blog Seventeen (8-17-08) Sun Aug 17 -Blog Eighteen (8-18-08) Mon Aug 18
-Blog Nineteen (8-19-08) Tues Aug 19
   
Transfer from Mass General Blake 12, Neurosciences ICU to Mass General Bigelow 9, Respiratory Acute Care
-Blog Twenty (8-20-08) Wed Aug 20 -Blog TwentyOne-1 (8-21-08) Thurs Aug 21-A
-Blog TwentyOne-2 (8-21-08) Thurs Aug 21 -B
   
Transfer from Mass General Bigelow 9, Respiratory Acute Care to Mass General Blake 12, Neurosciences ICU
-Blog TwentyTwo-A (8-22-08) Fri Aug 22 - A -Blog TwentyTwo-B (8-22-08) Fri Aug 22 - B
-Blog TwentyTwo-C (8-22-08) Fri Aug 22 - C -Blog TwentyTwo-D (8-22-08) Fri Aug 22 - D
-Blog Comentary (8-23-08) Sat Aug 23 -Blog Twenty Three (8-23-08) Sat Aug 23
-Blog Twenty Four (8-24-08) Sun Aug 24 -Blog Twenty Five (8-25-08) Mon Aug 25
-Blog Twenty Six (8-26-08) Tues Aug 26 -Blog Twenty Seven (8-27-08) Wed Aug 27
-Blog Twenty Eight (8-28-08) Thurs Aug 28  
     
Transfer from Mass General Blake 12, Neurosciences ICU to Mass General Bigelow 9, Respiratory Acute Care
-Blog Twenty Nine (8-29-08) Fri Aug 29 -Blog Thirty (8-30-08) Sat Aug 30
     
Transfer from Respiratory Acute Care to Medical ICU to Mass General Blake 12, Neurosciences ICU
-Blog ThirtyOne (8-31-08) Sun Aug 31 -Blog ThirtyTwo (9/1, 9/2, 9/3) Mon Sept 1
-Blog ThirtyTwo (9/1, 9/2, 9/3) Tues Sept 2 -Blog ThirtyTwo (9/1, 9/2, 9/3) Wed Sept 3
-Blog ThirtyTwo (9/1, 9/2, 9/3) Thurs Sept 4 -Blog ThirtyThree (9-5-08) Fri Sept 5
-Blog ThirtyFour (9/6) Sat Sept 6 -Blog ThirtyFive (9/7) Sun Sept 7
-Blog ThirtySix (9/8) Mon Sept 8   -Blog ThirtySeven (9/9) Tues Sept 9
     
Transfer from Mass General Blake 12, Neurosciences ICU to Mass General Bigelow 9, Respiratory Acute Care
-Blog ThirtySeven-'n half (9/10) Wed Sept 10 -Blog ThirtyEight (9/11) Thurs Sept 11
-Blog ThirtyNine (9/12 and 9/13) Fri Sept 12 -Blog ThirtyNine (9/12 and 9/13) Sat Sept 13
-Blog Forty (9-14-08) Sun Sept 14 -Blog FortyOne (9-15-08) Mon Sept 15
  Tues Sept 16 -Blog FortyTwo (9-17-08) Wed Sept 17
-Blog FortyThree (9-18-08) Thurs Sept 18 -Blog FortyFour (9-20-08) Sat Sept 20
-Blog Forty Five (9-22-08) Mon Sept 22 -Blog Forty Six (9-23-08) Tues Sept 23
-Blog Forty Seven (9-24-08) Wed Sept 24   Blog Forty Eight (9-26-08) Fri Sept 26
Blog Forty Nine (9-29-08) Mon Sept 29   Blog Fifty (9-30-08) Tues Sept 30
Blog Fifty One (10-02-08) Thurs Oct 2  
   
Transfer from Mass General Bigelow 9, RACU to Youville Rehabilitation Hospital, Cambridge, MA
Blog Fifty Two (10-6-08) Mon Oct 6   Blog Fifty Three (10-8-08) Wed Oct 8
Blog Fifty Four (10-15-08) Wed Oct 15   (there may be a quick post missing in here, sorry)
         
Transfer from Youville Rehabilitation Hospital to Mass General - ER, then MICU, now Bigelow 9, RACU
Emergency Post 1 (10-16-08) Thurs Oct 16   Emergency Post 2 (10-16-08) Thurs Oct 16
Emergency Post 3 (10-16-08) Thurs Oct 16   Tia Blog Update (10-17-08) Fri Oct 17
Blog Fifty Five (10-18-08) Sat Oct 18   Blog Fifty Six (10-25-08) Sat Oct 25
Blog Fifty Seven (10-28-08) Tue Oct 28   Tia Blog Update 1 (10-29-08) Wed Oct 29
Tia Blog Update 2 (10-29-08) Wed Oct 29   Tia Blog Fifty Eight (10-31-08) Fri Oct 31
Tia Blog Fifty Nine (11-01-08) Sat Nov 1   Tia Blog Sixty (11-02-08) Sun Nov 2
Tia Blog Sixty One (11-03-08) Mon Nov 2   Tia Blog Sixty Two (11-04-08) Tues Nov 3
         
Last Blog Entries (11-06 thru 11-09)        
Go back to Tia's Information Center


SECTION TWO

Details on the damage as explained by the ICU doctor - click HERE (updated 9/08/08)

Current Condition and Information:
Tia was transferred back to the Mass General on Oct 16. She passed away on Nov. 9. Rest in Peace, my love.


She is no longer able to communicate or be aware that anyone is there.
She is no longer aware, to the best of the doctor's knowledge, of any real sensory input and
is in a coma-like fugue state and is functionally brain dead. There will be no recovery.

Tia passed at approx. 2:00 pm on Sunday, 9 November.
Her passing was quiet and peaceful, without pain or discomfort,
after only 2 hours of 'hospice' with the machines turned off.
In attendance were her spouse Jet / Lori, her sister Randi and her life-long friend Ken.
Other close friends stayed in the waiting room for support and comfort.
The nurse attending to her was Zach, as we requested - he was kind, compassionate and
everything we have come to expect from him - waiting was the right decision.


She fought very hard for 3 months and it was time to let her go peacefully.

In total, she suffered at least 4 strokes, affecting the cerebellum, the occipital lobe,
the corpus callosum, the midbrain, the medulla oblongata and bilateral damage to the thalamus.
She also suffered a pulmonary cardiac arrest, as well as multiple severe infections and partial renal failure.
She was with us for a bit longer because of the exceptional care given by the Mass General
and in specific, because of unparalled heroic efforts by her primary nurse, Zach.

If you wish to send thanks or gratitude to the Mass General for their exceptional care,
please send your cards and notes to:
The Nurses and Staff of the RACU on Bigelow 9

The Nurses and Staff of the NICU on Ellison 12
The Nurses and Staff of the MICU on Blake 7

Please contact Jet if you have any questions not answered here.

Tia's Memorial will be on Sunday, 16 November.
Details will be posted as they become available.

Thank you for your understanding.

back to Tia's Information Center
       
  30  


       

Contact Information:

Tia and Jet (Lori) Cultir
Jet's cell phone: 215-280-6425
Jet's email: jetcultir@gmail.com

Tia passed away at 2:00 pm on November 9th, 2008.
Please send all cards, gifts, flowers, etc to their home address,
send flowers for the funeral to the Joyce Funeral home listed above

contact Jet via email for address information - not posted here for security reasons


Return to the Top - Tia's Information Center - Click HERE
Section One: Blog Entries - Click HERE
Section Two: Medical Information - Click HERE



 
h